xabbott.blg

Building a new PC

with 2 comments

I recently built a new desktop PC. I was looking to build one as a budget gaming machine. I also wanted to move into more recent technologies. I was still using a five year old single core P4 with hyper-threading, AGP graphics card, DDR 400 ram, IDE hard drives, etc.

Parts:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E7200

Motherboard: ASUS P5N-D

RAM: Corsair XMS2 (1GB x 4)

Power Supply (PSU): Corsair vx550

Hard Drive: Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB Cache (SATA)

CD / DVD Burner: LITE-ON iHAS220 (SATA)

Video Card: EVGA 8800 GT 512MB

Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion

CPU Fan: Golden Orb II

A lot of these choices were based on prices, reviews, and features. The e7200 seemed very over clock friendly. The motherboard was a hard choice. There are cheaper boards and I couldn’t decide if I wanted a 750i or P45 board. I ended up with the 750i just incase I wanted to do SLi in the near future. But honestly, still unsure if I made the right choice.

I bought an aftermarket CPU fan because I really don’t like the stock Intel coolers. I’ve had bad luck with them in the past. The particular cooler I purchased doesn’t cool much more than stock but is very quite.

Installation:

Nothing substantial to note here. Was all pretty straight forward and simple. Even the CPU fan wasn’t that hard. Although if you were to put this fan on an already built computer it would be a pain. It would require you to take out the entire motherboard.

I ended up with plenty of space for all my components. The side air duct cone fit perfectly over the CPU fan.  11-119-068-11

The side panel on this case is more annoying to remove and put back on than more expensive cases though.

Next time I’ll cover the first boot, bios, and some of the *fun* I had installing Windows Vista 64.

Written by Matthew A. Darragh

October 16, 2008 at 8:45 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re back!

    System looks good. I’m looking for something similar to replace my old Athlon XP desktop (with AGP, DDR400 etc) as well. Although I might wait another few months and buy some (two) lcd monitors first.

    Freduardo

    October 20, 2008 at 3:29 am

  2. I don’t know if I would say “back.”

    I honestly just haven’t been tinkering with Linux or PCs in awhile. So I haven’t really posted. :P

    xabbott

    October 21, 2008 at 7:27 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

